THAW

20140226-123841.jpg

Good God almighty it has been COLD in the midwest this year!

And I am confused about how I feel about it. I am a cold weather being. When summer comes around, I groan and complain the entire season. I am not a fan of heat, humidity, sweat, or exhaustion… unless it’s deliberate because I’ve been hiking or swimming or something outdoorsy and purposeful. Basically – unless I’m in a pool, it doesn’t need to be hot. I don’t want it.

But really, St. Louis? 2 months with temperatures less than 18 degrees and ice all over the ground?? No. Today it’s supposed to be near 55 degrees and I didn’t even wear a sweater. I’m in a long sleeve shirt – straight up. This is just not right. Everyone around here is confused.

Assuming that we all don’t collapse from the zombie like colds we’re sure to get after this ‘warm’ weather snap, it should be a pretty relaxing, peaceful, soothing outside kind of day.

This morning, my littlest Flynns and I took a trip to Starbucks for double-chocolatey chip frappuccinos. I don’t often get the chance to take them out, but I enjoyed the time I got to spend with them and I’m very thankful for our one-on-one time… And I think they like listening to my weird music. It’s a win for everybody!

I also spent some time working on my sweet moves this weekend with “The Lawn Chair Brigade” – the new group I joined to get out of the house and meet people, and have a little fun in the process. They are a fun group of misfits that marches a few of the parades around St. Louis with choreographed routines featuring you guessed it – lawn chairs! I’m really excited about the Mardi Gras parade coming up this weekend (more on this later), but they also participate in the Fat Tuesday, and St. Patrick’s Day. Brass band and all!

It was a weekend full of cousins and Call of Duty, and I loved every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

