11/52

So, I skipped week 8 and week 10, and honestly, November has been rough. Severe. But I put my big girl pants on, and this lipstick, and pulled myself up by my bootstraps. Whatever those are.

20131206-171331.jpg

Here goes…

My staffing agency screwed me out of my fantastic job. Dun dun dunnn. I had so much fun going to work everyday, and seeing all of my friends, and getting to explore the city on my lunch breaks. And now, I don’t wanna talk about it.

So, I’ve spent the last two weeks coming up with a life plan.

I spend my mornings driving. I’m the type of person that loves to get out and explore. Adventure. I really enjoy alone time and singing way too loudly to the tunes on my iPhone. It’s part of the Gemini in me that I couldn’t suppress if I wanted to; the never satisfied, whirling dervish, please-control-your-impulses-before-you-lose-your-mind spontaneity that tends to help me make friends and help me lose boyfriends. When I was looking at cars to buy, I chose mine based on the fact that it’s grey inside and a diesel under the hood. My 3rd best friend (I rank the boys to keep them in check) and I loved to travel, and because we were both poor, road trips around the country were as fancy as it got. Thank goodness the car is dependable, cuz I’ve put 40,000 miles on it this year.

20131206-171533.jpg

Every morning I grab an iced coffee and go on road trips until the coffee runs out. Generally I take the route through Upper Alton and then downtown to Route 100. The trip down The Great River Road from Alton to Grafton has ranked in the top 10 scenic drives in the United States for the last 20 years or so. I’ve never thought of the Mississippi River as beautiful, but add it to the winding roads, changing colors of trees, and the bluffs that edge out the drive, and you’re looking at some pretty spectacular views.

Also, at the end of the road, Pere Marquette is a great place to sit and think.

Things that have crossed my mind in the last 2 weeks:

TVs belong in the bathroom. They just do. How nice is it to get ready for the day or take a nice long hot bath at the end of it, and be able to decompress and unwind with some funny rom com or something mindless, but highly entertaining on Bravo? Really nice.

Potatoes must be served with cheese. This is a no brainer, right? I haven’t yet told you (have I?), but I have some sort of love affair with cheese. It’s delicious, and filling, and is way better than stuffing your face with sugar. And potatoes and cheese are like a match made in heaven. Yes. One of these days I’ll put a ‘health’ or some food-related type of page on here and then you’ll understand this rambling.

Don’t like the look of a fresh hair cut. Got my hair cut recently. It looks choppy and even and not like perfect ‘Little Mermaid’ hair. I want mermaid hair!

I’m the worst when it comes to nail polish. I love fresh, perfect nails, but as soon as they start to chip, I’m all over ’em! When it comes to peeling it off, I can’t help myself. I am almost compulsive. I have to scratch at it until it all comes off clean, and I end up with the roughest nails on the block.

I don’t like biscuits. That’s it.

I believe sentiment is best reserved for romance and best friends. When my family gives me sweet cards and nice, mushy notes, I think it’s sweet, but I. just. can’t. I wish my parents would give me old pictures and stories from when they were little. Family photos are so my weakness. Anybody’s family, really. I think this ties into my love for all things old and nostalgic.

And now, ANNOUNCEMENT TIME!

(drumroll please)

I’m going back to school. I have no idea what to do with my life, which wouldn’t matter if I had money and is probably something I should have figured out by now, but back to learning things it is! I have been accepted by a school in the area so I can stay local, and I’ve enrolled for 17 hours this semester. I’ll be taking the next 4 months to plan out my degree audit and hopefully I will have the degree by May 2015 :)

Oh and my best friend Hunter moved back to the States. I really need to make time to get down to Houston. Hell, I may just move there… Kidding. I miss him so much.

One last thing. I went shopping with my grandmother yesterday. This is so unlike me. I am not a shopper. Nuh uh. No way. But she asked me to go, and she prefaced it with a drs appt that she wanted me to drive her to, so there I was. Wandering aimlessly around a hospital. Wondering what I could be thinking about to distract myself from the monotony that is 100 racks of clothing and 12,000 people surrounding you. And you know what won me over? This little lady:

20131204-153743.jpg

Can you believe?? One of the stores in the mall is going out of business, and they’re selling EVERYTHING so, ‘Penney Myra’ came home with me. I thought she needed a proper name and Gram decided that was the one. Works for me! I ended up putting a sweater on her cuz let’s get real, I’ve got little cousins who would like to visit every now and then, and we don’t need those questions quite so soon.

Anyway, I’m hoping week 12 is better than the last two. I’m sure it will be just what I needed :]

Leave a Reply

