5/52

I. am. going. cr@zy. So, it’s Thursday right now and I don’t even know what’s going on over here – must be a full moon in the works or something… those pregnant ladies ARE acting a little bit extra excited…. The point is, we are all very slap happy in the office today. When a customer with the possibly of 4 different names amuses you (is it RoBena, RoVena, RoveRa, or Dory?!), it may be time to call it a day.

Friday is the full moon? Wait… Well, I knew it was coming. Close enough.

I just want you guys to know, Buffalo Wild Wings isn’t all that great, but it’s strange to me that we have a “mr. cool guy” in the office that is dead-set against it because the chicken isn’t ‘quality.’ Dead-set! He’s all like “yeah I love chicken let’s go to lunch” one second and then he’s all “B Dubs Nuh uh! You crazy. That is some chicken that is NOT quality.” Okay, maybe those weren’t his exact words, but it’s close enough that I feel comfortable quoting him for the purpose of this weird story. He does talk like that though – where he pronounces every word and mixes them up to sounds like he’s really empasizing them. It’s weird. So, few of us went to “B Dubs” today and I got the chicken (duh). Boneless. It’s aight. As chicken goes, I prefer Wingstop, but that may be because the ranch is da bomb. Can you dig it? It’s some good stuff. It’s the kind of ranch that makes me stop by and grab some on the way home on a night where I feel like taco salad. (I feel like this is probably the third time I’ve mentioned this ranch…) Taco salad is tops at anytime, but wingstop ranch taco salad cannot be beaten. My mom will make taco salad with chili cheese fritos instead of tortilla chips and that really takes the cake. No really. Go mom! I have to admit, last week the coworkers decided to lunch at BWW and I was a little hesitant. I had only been there one other time for a Michigan football game (I think they were playing Notre Dame, but I’m a girl and I don’t care about college football so you really can’t take my word for it) and I had a hanckering for some potato skins. Now, when I say potato skins, I mean a potato that has been cut in halves (preferrably) or quarters, scooped out a bit, and loaded with butter, cheese, and bacon (and chives). Served with sour cream or ranch. I vote ranch. Always go with ranch. But nooooooo, Buffalo Wild Wings decides to take what was a delicious, regular old french fry and throw some weird seasoning on it and call it potato skins. That’s just wrong! I was deceived and confused and vowed never to return. I mean, who decides to take the best part of the meal, get rid of it, and say ‘hey! These fries look good, but I think we should roll it around in dry, bacon-flavored salt, and serve it up to these unsuspecting patrons’? No, B-Dubs. NO.

This black Friday went particularly well though. What I thought was ‘full-moon-maddness’ had passed and everyone was in a cheerful, silly mood. Don’t you just love cheer and silliness? I chalk this up to the rubber-band ankle bracelet that my little cousin made for me. “Ankle bracelet?” you say. Yes, ankle bracelet. It’s so 1997, and if I can remember correctly, 1997 was a very happy year for me. I’ll take you anytime, 1997.

20131019-083724.jpg

This weekend was goooood. I spent all day Saturday cleaning my room, napping, and watching The Young and The Restless with my Grandmother. It’s one of her “soaps” that she has recorded and watched daily for the last 30 years or so; That and The Bold and The Beautiful. Man, these soap operas sure are clever with their titles, aren’t they? They tell it all. Anyway, apparently it has gotten super dramatic lately and she filled me in on all of the characters. I love how she describes them as “stinkers” or “rascals” and how she really likes them anyway. They’re truly just misunderstood, you know. 7 hours later, we decided that chocolate candy-covered apples sounded pretty devine and that we would call it a night and hit up the orchard on Sunday. And that we did!

20131020-193731.jpg

20131020-193742.jpg

20131020-193748.jpg

Fijis, and Granny Smiths, and Golden Delicious, OH MY. We prefer the Golden Delicious and mentioned several times how we can’t understand why everybody doesn’t feel that way. I mean, as my grandmother says, “you can make pies and cobblers and anything with them!” Get on board with the in crowd and love yourself some Golden Delicious; You may just get a Apple Crunch Cake out of it.

As if all of the apples we ate while walking the orchard weren’t enough, we just had to stop for frozen custard. It’s one of my go-to’s when I’m feeling like I need a treat. Chocolate malts for the win! Gram likes the chocolate cones, don’t cha know.20131020-194016.jpg

20131020-194142.jpg

After our cravings were satisfied, I sat the lady down for some one-on-one with The Walking Dead. Let me just tell you, she’s not into it. She kept saying ‘How can you watch this stuff?’ and ‘Whaaaaat!?’ Come on, Gram. People love zombies! I think I’ll be watching this one alone from now on, but can you believe someone’s burning people?? Ugh. Betrayed by your own kind. Such sweet sorrow. You get attached to the few characters you have left and then this nonsense. Who could it be?? And, in breaking news, the ladies at work have decided that Darryl isn’t too dirty to marry. Well, isn’t that a nice way to put it?

In case you’ve been living under a rock, let me tell you how conflicted I am about this World Series business. WS2013 between the Cardinals and the Red Sox? Say it ain’t so! I’ve enjoyed both teams throughout the years, and now I don’t know who I will be rooting for. Of course, it’s not really that difficult – I live in StL now sooooo the Cardinals are the clear winners here. That and I think they’re gonna take it. Don’t let me down, boys. Who am I kidding? I’ve never been let down by a baseball boy ;) But while the Sox are playing ‘Sweet Caroline’ at Fenway, I’ll be jamming the LIVE version of Friends in Low Places; you know… the hidden verse.

When the big news stories in the morning are ‘Cardinals land in Boston’ and ‘Elephants in the zoo are too fat’, you know you live in a wonderfully interesting city. Love you, StL. Bring it home, boys!

http://www.buzzfeed.com/mlb/15-reasons-you-should-be-rooting-for-the-st-louis-cardinals

blog

Happy happy 7th Birthday to my little punkin, Laken! She’s been all over the map with me, and it’s safe to say she’s the best little road trip buddy around. Love you, Buggas.

buggas

Leave a Reply

