THOSE WORDS

Sometimes I feel I have become my mother & sometimes I feel entirely different; entirely me. Only a few times have I realized my annoying “dad-like” qualities – like my ability to go all ‘Negative Nancy’ in 0-3 seconds, and how much I actually enjoy living in that moment for a minute or two. Nevertheless, it always surprises me to hear my mother’s words come out of my mouth – almost as if they’re escaping from that place I’ve been suppressing all these years. Suddenly, a few years into my 20s, I start saying words like ‘tennibops’ (sneakers) or ‘shitzkeebah’ (I’ll let you figure that one out).

mom2

Oh Mother, I always knew you’d recruit me someday.

Leave a Reply

